CeltoGraphics

Graphic Arts and Celtic DNA

WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: Rule of Thirds

Leave a comment

In response to The Daily Post’s weekly photo challenge: “Rule of Thirds.”

I usually keep the rule of thirds in mind when I design a watercolor painting, but haven’t much thought of it for photography.  Mostly because of the limited aperature control in my camera, or perhaps I should go back to the manual to check more about the aperature mode that I do have.  I may not be doing all the camera is capable of.

Anyhow, I chose a lightweight cement mortar sculpture that I had done some years ago, and used it as my subject.  The lightweight mortar is composed of portland cement and vermiculite.  The latter is a mineral much, much lighter weight than sand, and if you cast a block of this mortar and wait some 4 or 5 hours for it to stiffen to semi-rigid, you can then carve it with a knife and smooth the surfaces with woodworking rasps.  After it hardens in about 24 hours it is smooth and hard as regular mortar, but easier to move about.

Sculpture of Mermaid

Sculpture of Mermaid Warming in the Sun

I set the aperture to an F of 3.3, but didn’t seem to get much of a reduction in field of view focus.  However, I used an Edge Blur effect in iPhoto, and that gave a good result, I think.

Leave a Reply

